icon for about up3 sectionicon for potential UP3 partnersicon for current partnersicon for commercial activitiesicon for contacting UP3


Governance Model

Our governance model provides support from the campus community to build meaningful and impactful university-wide partnerships. The UC Davis Preferred Partnership Program is guided by a governance model to facilitate participation by campus stakeholders and ensure partnerships are aligned with the university’s mission and principles of community.

View Governance Chart (PDF)

Click on an organizational unit below to view details:

UP3 Executive Committee

Sets the strategic vision and values for the program. Gives final approval to all UP3 partnership agreements.

Voting Members:

Kevin Blue, Director, Intercollegiate Athletics

Susan Catron, Interim Dean, UC Davis Continuing and Professional Education

Karl Engelbach, Associate Chancellor, Chief of Staff to Chancellor

Emily Galindo, Interim Vice Chancellor, Student Affairs

Shaun Keister, Vice Chancellor of Development and Alumni Relations

Kristin Lagattuta, Academic Senate Chair

Prasant Mohapatra, Vice Chancellor, Research

Karl Mohr, Assistant Executive Vice Chancellor, Provost’s Office

Kelly Ratliff (chair), Vice Chancellor, Finance, Operations and Administration

Dana Topousis, Chief Marketing and Communications Officer, Strategic Communications

Rao Unnava, Dean, Graduate School of Management


Ex-Officio Members:

Sam Bishop-Green, Assistant Director, Preferred Partnership Program

Lisa Frace, Senior Associate Vice Chancellor - Chief Finance and Budget Officer, Finance, Operations and Administration

Heather Hunter, Executive Director, Preferred Partnership Program

UP3 Advisory Committee

Advises on policies and procedures of UP3 operations and consults on new industries of opportunity. Reviews Industry Working Group recommendations for partnerships and sends opportunities they endorse to the Executive Committee for approval.


Voting Members:

Ashwin Aravindakshan, Associate Professor, Graduate School of Management

Sheri Atkinson, Associate Vice Chancellor, Student Life, Campus Community, and Retention Services

Rocko DeLuca, Deputy Director, Intercollegiate Athletics

Mona Ellerbrock, Director, Office of Research

Richard Engel, Assistant Vice Chancellor, Alumni Relations

Lisa Frace (chair), Senior Associate Vice Chancellor - Chief Finance and Budget Officer, Finance, Operations and Administration

Anthony Hazarian, Executive Director of Development, UC Davis Health

Dough Kouba (interim), Assistant Director of Marketing, Strategic Communications

Meital Machulsky, Controller, ASUCD

Zach Rollins, Graduate Student Association

Kirsten Stevenson, Senior Campus Counsel

Cory Vu, Interim Assistant Vice Chancellor for Divisional Resources

Academic Senate Faculty Representative - TBC

Development - TBC


Ex-Officio Members:

Sam Bishop-Green, Assistant Director, Preferred Partnership Program

CJ Caudle, Strategic Sourcing Manager, Supply Chain Management

Heather Hunter, Executive Director, Preferred Partnership Program

Tim Maguire, Chief Procurement Officer, Supply Chain Management

Kelly Ratliff, Vice Chancellor, Finance, Operations and Administration

UP3 Program Office

UC Davis Preferred Partnership Program office establishes and executes a comprehenesive campus strategy, and serves as a single point of contact, for securing and managing university-wide preferred business partners.

Heather L. Hunter, Executive Director

Sam Bishop-Green, Assistant Director

Christopher J. Caudle, Procurement Lead

Industry Working Groups

Individual working groups are created for each industry and composition will be determined by the UP3 Program Office. Develops the formal request for proposals (RFPs), evaluates and reviews proposals for potential partnerships for individual industries, and recommends business partnerships for approval to UP3 Advisory Committee.

Commercial Activities Review Board (CARB)

The Commercial Activities Review Board (CARB) reviews requests for commercial activities on campus. CARB is responsible for setting the campus access fee in accordance with the campus’ Commercial Activities Policy. CARB serves one-year appointments and are nominated by the UP3 Advisory Committee.

Kristin Dees, Director, Center for Student Involvement

Jason Lorgan, Executive Director, Campus Recreation, Memorial Union and UC Davis Stores

Lauren White, Associate Director, Foundation and Corporate Giving

Stakeholders and Communities

Provides input and feedback to the UP3 Office and Industry Working Groups on prospective industries and partnerships. Stakeholders and communities will collaborate on partnership activation plans and strategies and approve respective marketing rights and values.